Past Events

Past Event

Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra

Barry Wordsworth conductor
Robert Clark piano

Bridge The Sea
Liebermann Piano Concerto No. 1
Brahms Symphony No. 4, Op. 98 in E minor

In the centenary year of Benjamin Britten, the orchestra pays tribute to his teacher and Brighton resident, Frank Bridge. His four movement orchestral suite The Sea was written in 1911 before the outbreak of World War One which was to affect Bridge deeply. It is one of his most accessible and popular works. Lowell Liebermann, another American, wrote his Piano Concerto No. 1 in 1988. Behind the virtuosic writing, there is a darker side to the work with its use of a Scottish graveyard dance, the Maccaber Dance, the title of the third and final movement. What better way could there be to conclude our season than with another in our series of Brahms’s symphonies, his Fourth in E minor.

Sun 30 March 2014, 2.45pm
£10, £15, £20, £25, £30, £33
50% discounts for U18s, full time students, jobseekers, income support
Season Tickets available (in person or over the phone only)