Past Event
Classical Music

Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra

Wed 2 Aug 2017

Kirill Karabits conductor
David Fray piano

Glazunov Overture, From the Middle Ages Op 79
Beethoven Piano Concerto No 3 in C minor Op 37
Tchaikovsky Suite No 3, Op 55

One of the UK’s most brilliant orchestras is joined by the sensational French pianist David Fray for a concert brimming with melody and emotion, led by the Ukrainian conductor Kirill Karabits.

Glazunov’s overture From the Middle Ages is saturated in sumptuous musical colours, harnessing plainsong and full-blown romance to evoke a world of troubadours and crusaders, monks and ladies fair.

Russian Romanticism is also to the fore in Tchaikovsky’s Suite No 3, a work of beguiling spirit that progresses from languid to impassioned in music that displays all the poignancy and heartfelt emotion for which Tchaikovsky is so beloved. Between the two comes Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto, revolutionary in its scale, drama and intensity, and both startlingly dramatic and richly melodic.