Past Event
Classical Music

London Philharmonic Orchestra 2015/16

Thu 26 Mar 2015

Fauré Suite, Pelléas et Mélisande
Ravel Piano Concerto in G major
Ravel Valses nobles et sentimentales
Debussy La mer

Robin Ticciati conductor
Louis Schwizgebel piano

Robin Ticciati leads the London Philharmonic Orchestra in this celebration of exquisite orchestral craftsmanship. At the heart of this concert is Ravel’s toe-tapping concerto, a musical postcard from the streets of Harlem where he experienced the harmonic exoticism and rhythmic drive of jazz. The composer is a little more restrained in his teasing waltzes, which come with the same clarity and luminous restraint that imbues Fauré’s delicate reflection of the tragedy of Pelléas et Mélisande. To finish comes Debussy’s orchestral depiction of the sea, sketched down on the coast in Eastbourne: a swirling musical canvas unrivalled in its subtlety and evocation.