Past Event
Classical Music

Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra

Fri 31 Jul 2015

Pre-concert Interview in Education Pavilion from 1.45pm

Stephen Hough Piano
Barry Wordsworth Conductor

Tchaikovsky Francesca da Rimini
Beethoven Piano Concerto No.1
Kalinnikov Symphony No.1

The Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra’s 91st season opens with two works by Russian composers, one of which is well known in the West while the other is rarely heard outside Russia.

Tchaikovsky’s symphonic poem Francesca da Rimini describes the tragic fate of the heroine of Dante’s Divine Comedy in a highly dramatic style reminiscent of Liszt.

Kalinnikov, who died young of tuberculosis, was recognised for his talent by Tchaikovsky himself who recommended him for the post of Director of the Moscow Theatre. His reputation was established by his tuneful Symphony No.1 written in 1895, although it was only published after his early death.

Beethoven himself performed the solo piano in his First Piano Concerto written in 1797. It was not Beethoven’s first attempt at a piano concerto as what became known as the second had been written ten years before! We welcome Stephen Hough as our soloist in what will be a wonderful start to our orchestral season.