Headshot of Aidan Mikdad next to a dancer in motion
Classical Music

The Rite of Spring

Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra 2024/25 Season
Sun 22 Sep 2024, 14:45
Loading performances

The inaugural event of BPO's Centenary Season.

Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1, Op. 23
Stravinsky The Rite of Spring

Joanna MacGregor conductor
Aidan Mikdad piano

Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra’s ambitious season opens with one of the most volatile scores ever written. Music Director Joanna MacGregor conducts Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring, and the young Dutch virtuoso Aidan Mikdad makes his Brighton debut in Tchaikovsky’s fiery piano concerto. 

Stravinsky claimed his thrilling ballet score The Rite of Spring was born from his unconscious. The story of a pre-Christian ritual famously scandalised Paris audiences in 2013: Diaghilev had lured the cream of Parisian aristocracy with Les Sylphides before unleashing, after the interval, the most visceral score by the young composer - and it caused a riot. The rhythmic innovation and colour of The Rite of Spring – and its staggering challenges for the orchestra – changed music forever, inspiring musicians from Alice Coltrane and Neil Tennant to choreographers Pina Bausch and Michael Clark. A hundred years on, it still grabs us by the ears and jugular.

For the spine-tingling brilliance, poetry and vivacity of Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto no.1, soloist Aidan Mikdad joins the BPO for his debut at Brighton Dome. Born in Amsterdam in 2001, Aidan has been a prize winner at many international piano competitions and festivals, including the Queen Elisabeth Competition in Belgium, Verbier Festival Switzerland and the Queen’s Commendation for Excellence in the UK, making his debut at the Wigmore Hall in 2023.

‘Aidan Mikdad pulls on the heart strings with his velvet touch – an impeccable navigation of ranges and nuances.’  – Qobuz

Book the 3 Concert Saver (20% Off)*

Book the Season Concert Saver (25% Off)*

(*Excludes concerts on Sat 16 Nov & Sat 14 Dec)