Past Event
Classical Music

Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra

Fri 1 Aug 2014

Stephen Bell Conductor
Tamsin Waley-Cohen Violin

Beethoven Egmont Overture Op.84
Bruch Violin Concerto No.1 in G minor Op.26
Sibelius Symphony No.1 in E minor Op.39

Stephen Bell returns to conduct another programme of favourites, which begins with Beethoven’s Egmont Overture, written in 1810 as incidental music to Goethe’s play of the same name. The long, expansive lines and soaring slow movement of Bruch’s Violin Concerto No.1 have made it one of the most romantic violin concertos, performed here by rising star Tamsin Waley-Cohen, winner of the Royal Overseas League String Prize 2005. By contrast, Sibelius evokes the starker atmosphere of his native Finland in the intensely nationalistic fervour of his Symphony No.1.