Past Event
Classical Music

Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra

Fri 1 Aug 2014

Thomas Carroll Conductor
Anthony Hewitt Piano

Haydn Symphony No.83 in G minor (‘La Poule’)
Mozart Piano Concerto No.27 in B flat major K595
Schubert Symphony No.5 in B flat major D485Haydn and Mozart did more than any other composers of the Classical Period to develop the symphony and the concerto. Haydn’s sense of humour and joie de vivre are given full rein in Symphony No.83, nicknamed La Poule (The Hen) after an audience member at the first performance observed that the oboe figure of the first movement sounded like hens clucking. Mozart’s Piano Concerto No.27 was first performed in 1791, the year of Mozart’s death, and was to be the last work that Mozart himself performed.