Past Event
Classical Music

London Philharmonic Orchestra 2013/14

Fri 15 Mar 2013

Kodály Dances of Galánta
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4
Dvořák Symphony No. 7

Andrés Orozco-Estrada
Michael Roll piano

When the London Philharmonic Society asked Antonín Dvořák for a new symphony in 1884, the composer knew he had to deliver something special. In the resulting Seventh, the doubts and frustrations Dvořák experienced as a composer are defeated by music of compelling argument, triumphing over its own nervous energy in the final bars with a glorious plunge into the brightness of D major. In between that and Zoltán Kodály’s infectious Slovakian dances comes one of Beethoven’s most moving concertos. In his Fourth Piano Concerto the composer famously ‘tamed the furies’ in music that combined virtuosity with delicacy like none before it.