Past Event
Classical Music

Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra

Wed 30 Jul 2014

Barry Wordsworth conductor
Natasha Paremski piano

Glinka Overture, Ruslan and Lyudmila
Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No.2 Op.18 in C minor
Shostakovich Symphony No.5 Op.47

The Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra’s 90th season opens with the grandeur and Romantic sweep of the Russian repertory. The Orchestra is joined by the stunning Russian-American pianist Natasha Paremski for Rachmaninov’s glorious masterpiece, one of the best-loved works in the repertoire. The concerto is flanked by Glinka’s exhilarating overture to his opera Ruslan and Lyudmila and Shostakovich’s classically inspired, deeply moving Symphony No. 5.