Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra: 2018/19 Season

The renowned orchestra returns, with some of the finest music making on the south coast

See More from Series
Past Events
More from Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra: 2018/19 Season

Past Event

Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra: 2018/19 Season

Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra

Barry Wordsworth Conductor

Mendelssohn Overture: The Hebrides (Fingal’s Cave)
Alfvén Swedish Rhapsody No.1 Op.19 (Midsommarvaka/Midsummer Vigil)
Lyadov Le Lac Enchanté (The Enchanted Lake) Op.62
Honegger Pacific 231 (Mouvement Symphonique No.1)
Coates London Suite (London Everyday)
Butterworth The Banks of the Green Willow
Tchaikovsky Capriccio Italien Op.45

This afternoon Barry Wordsworth whisks us away on an exciting musical travelogue that opens with Mendelssohn’s atmospheric and popular Fingal’s Cave.

Alfvén’s Swedish Rhapsody No.1 conjures up a dreamy midsummer vigil in rural Sweden before Russian composer Lyadov displays brilliant orchestral colour and compositional skill in his tone poem The Enchanted Lake.

Honegger’s Pacific 231 perfectly depicts a train leaving a station and gathering speed at the start of a journey across America.

Eric Coates wrote his London Suite (1933) in three movements: Covent Garden (Tarantelle), Westminster (Meditation) and Knightsbridge (March).

Butterworth’s gorgeous depiction of an idyllic river scene - The Banks of the Green Willow - is followed by Tchaikovsky’s Capriccio Italien, written after a visit to Rome where the sounds of Italian street music inspired this fantasy for orchestra.

There will be a Touch Tour available for this event. Please contact our Ticket Office on 01273 709709 for more information and to book

Sun 3 Mar, 2.45pm
£12.50, £17.50, £24, £29, £35.50, £39.50, Under 18s and students half price*