Pavel Kolesnikov

Performing Brahms, Beethoven, Tchaikovsky and Couperin

‘The world seems to be awash in brilliant young Russian pianists just now, but Pavel Kolesnikov stands apart,’ BBC Music Magazine

Siberian pianist Pavel Kolesnikov is one of classical music’s fastest-rising stars, firmly established in the leading venues of Europe and the USA. The great masters of Romantic music define this recital: Beethoven, Brahms and Tchaikovsky. Alongside are two pieces, written for the harpsichord, by the Baroque composer Couperin.

Brahms, Johannes Intermezzo in E flat major Op. 117 No.1
Beethoven, Ludwig van Piano Sonata no. 4 in E flat major Op.7
Brahms, Johannes Intermezzo in B flat minor Op. 117 No.2
Couperin, Louis Pavanne in f sharp minor
Couperin, Louis Suite in A major (Prelude, Courante, Sarabande, Gigue)
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Ilyich Passé Lointain Op. 72 no. 17
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Ilyich Polka peu dansante Op. 51 No.2
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Ilyich Echo rustique Op. 72 No.13
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Ilyich Dumka, Scène rustique Russe, Op 59
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Ilyich Rèverie interrompue, Op. 40 No.12
Brahms, Johannes Intermezzo in C sharp minor Op. 117 No.3

'Intelligent programming and outstanding pianism' ★★★★★ Telegraph

'Here is a poet of the keyboard' Guardian

Sat 2 Feb, 7.30pm
£12.50, £17.50, £20 Under 26’s £10*