Past Events

Past Event

Brighton Philharmonic Brass

Tylman Susato Six Renaissance Dances (from The Danserye) 
Arr. John Iveson
Giovanni Gabrieli Canzon Septimi Toni a’ 8
Adriano Banchieri Echo Fantasia a’4
Giovanni Gabrieli Canzon Duodecimi Toni a’10
Jan Koetsier Symphony for Brass Op.80 
William Byrd Earl of Oxford's March
Henry Purcell Trumpet Tune and Air
Chris Hazell  Brass Cats
Ray Premru Divertimento for Ten Brass (5 movements) 

The BPO’s first concert of the New Year showcases the Brighton Philharmonic Brass section, which is rarely given top billing in one of the orchestra’s Brighton Dome concerts.

In the full symphony orchestra the brass always sit at the back of the stage, adding theatre and excitement to that rich symphonic sound we all love. In this afternoon’s line-up a French horn, four trumpets, three tenor trombones, a bass trombone and a tuba are placed firmly in the spotlight and centre stage for once.This select group present a delightful programme of entertaining music through the ages, spanning nearly five hundred years.

The concert starts with three highly significant Renaissance composers, the Flemish Tylman Susato and his brilliant dances of 1551, arranged by the trombonist John Iveson, and then three pieces written for brass choirs to perform in St Mark’s Cathedral, Venice by the Italian composers Adriano Banchieri and Giovanni Gabrieli, one of the most influential musicians of his time.

The popular Symphony for Brass by the Dutch composer Jan Koetsier was written in 1979 and has become a staple of the brass ensemble repertoire.

The Baroque period is represented by music from English composers William Byrd and Henry Purcell, whose Trumpet Tune and Air is a wedding staple, and then fast forward to the 20th century when the English composer and arranger Chris Hazell wrote his jazzy, light-hearted Brass Cats suite loosely based on the cats (all former strays) who shared his home at the time.

The concert closes with five movements of the entertaining Divertimento written in 1976 by American composer Ray Premru, Principal Bass Trombone at the Philharmonia Orchestra for 30 years.

Sun 9 Feb, 2.45pm
£14.50, £19.50, £26.50,
£31.50, £38.50 and £42.50
Under 18s/students half price.