Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra 2022/23

See More from Series
Past Events
More from Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra 2022/23

Past Event

Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra 2022/23

Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra: Fanfare for the Common Man

Copland Fanfare for the Common Man
Copland Appalachian Spring Suite
Gershwin Rhapsody in Blue
Joan Tower Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman
Copland Quiet City
Gershwin Catfish Row: Symphonic Suite from Porgy and Bess

Sian Edwards conductor
Joanna MacGregor piano
John Ellwood trumpet
Clare Hoskins cor anglais

A thrilling opening to our 2022/23 season. The Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra’s Music Director Joanna MacGregor joins Sian Edwards in a glamorous concert of American classics – Aaron Copland, George Gershwin and Joan Tower.

Aaron Copland wrote his iconic Fanfare for the Common Man in 1942, inspired by Henry Wallace’s wartime speech proclaiming ‘the dawn of the century of the common man,’ in honour of those fighting for freedom. It was to change American music; forty years later Joan Tower composed the equally rousing Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman for exactly the same forces– each dedicated, she says, ‘to women who take risks and are adventurous.’ Copland shows a gentler side in his intricate Appalachian Spring, the Pulitzer-prizewinning ballet created with Martha Graham. Early American pioneer life is reflected in Copland’s delicate handling of the Shaker melody The Gift to be Simple, as is his use of urban, night-time blues in Quiet City, for solo trumpet, cor anglais and strings.

George Gershwin’s irrepressibly jazzy Rhapsody in Blue, which received its sensational premiere in New York in 1924, never fails to delight with its evocation of the Manhattan skyline. Even more meaty is Gershwin’s Catfish Row, the symphonic suite from Porgy and Bess: a distillation of that work’s visceral power. Be prepared for a symphonic-scale Summertime, I Got Plenty of o’ Nuttin (with banjo), Bess You is my Woman Now, and more.

Concert Bundles:

3 Concert Saver

5 Concert Season (excludes New Years Eve)

6 Concert Season

Audio Brochure Event Listing:

Sun 2 Oct, 2.45pm (Doors 2pm)

Approximate stage times, subject to change:

Doors open 2pm
Start 2.45pm
Interval 3.35pm
End 4.45pm (Approx.)

Single ticket – £12.50, £19, £27, £33, £39.50

Full Season (5 concerts) – £46.88, £71.25, £101.25, £123.75, £148.13
Extended Season (6 concerts incl NYE) – £59.38, £90.25, £128.25, £156.75, £187.63
3 Concert Saver (any 3 concerts excl NYE) – £30, £45.60, £64.80, £79.20, £94.80

Discounts of up to 50% are available to Under 18s, full-time students, Universal Credit, Job Seeker’s Allowance or Income Support. Please provide proof if claiming one of these discounts.

£10 LoveMusic Ticket Available