Past Events

Past Event

An English Idyll

Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra

David Hill conductor
Tasmin Little violin

Presented by Petroc Trelawny

Elgar Wand of Youth, Suite No.2
Delius Walk to the Paradise Garden
Vaughan-Williams The Lark Ascending
Elgar Symphony No.1

Elgar’s charming suite, with its music drawn from early teenage material, combines the best of two worlds - innocent melodies, embellished with a 50-year-old’s mastery of delicate orchestration. He opens his First Symphony with one of his most noble and elevating tunes, a motto that infuses the emotional and sweeping flow of this pinnacle of English composition. Taken from the opera A Village Romeo & Juliet, Delius’ warm and sultry orchestral interlude is a portrait of the depth and passion of the lovers’ feelings for one another. The Lark Ascending is redolent of the English countryside. The soloist takes wing from out a murmuring orchestral accompaniment and delights in a flight of exquisite freedom before the mere mortal music falls away, leaving the lark to sing itself into silence.

Sat 8 Mar 2014, 7.30pm
£10 - £27.50