Past Events

Past Event

London Philharmonic Orchestra 2015/16

Mozart Overture, Lucio Silla
Brahms Piano Concerto No. 2
Beethoven Symphony No. 7

Adrian Prabava conductor
Stefan Ćirić piano

Not until the upheavals of the 20th century would another composer conceive of a piece so controlled and driven by rhythm as Beethoven did in his Seventh Symphony. Here is a work in which you hear the controlling rhythms in almost every bar, whether in the propulsive energy of the outer movements or in the inevitable tread of the slow march.

While his first Piano Concerto had spoken of the love and yearning of a young man, when he came to write his second 22 years later, Brahms was a changed being. This intimate yet wholly magisterial concerto – Brahms’s ultimate musical summation of civilisation – is performed by prize-winning pianist Stefan Ćirić.

Sat 16 Jan 2016, 7.30pm
£32.50, £27.50, £23, £18, £15, £10

Book 2 concerts - save 10%
Book 3 concerts - save 15%
Book 4 concerts - save 20%

There is a £2 per order charge. Additional postage charges (50p or £1.50) apply