Past Events

Past Event

London Philharmonic Orchestra 2015/16

Mendelssohn Overture, A Midsummer Night's Dream
Khachaturian Violin Concerto
Strauss Macbeth
Stravinsky Firebird Suite (1919 version)

Andrés Orozco-Estrada conductor
Kristóf Baráti violin

The Stravinsky who would change music forever was first glimpsed in the luminous 1910 score, The Firebird. In this blazing ballet music, Stravinsky unleashed the pictorial powers with which he would shock and enchant generations of theatregoers. The composer had found the perfect subject matter in the compelling collision of the evil powers of Kashchei the Magician with the forceful good of the irrepressible Firebird; the ballet would end in an infernal dance, ripe for Stravinsky’s own brand of violent syncopation. Principal Guest Conductor Andrés Orozco-Estrada conducts the condensed Suite from the ballet alongside the rhythmic vivacity and emotional fervour of Khachaturian’s rhapsodic Violin Concerto.

Sat 27 Feb 2016, 7.30pm
£32.50, £27.50, £23, £18, £15, £10

Book 2 concerts - save 10%
Book 3 concerts - save 15%
Book 4 concerts - save 20%

There is a £2 per order charge. Additional postage charges (50p or £1.50) apply