Past Events

Past Event

London Philharmonic Orchestra 2015/16

De Falla The Three-cornered Hat (Suite No. 2)
Rodrigo Fantasia para un gentilhombre*
Prokofiev Romeo and Juliet (excerpts)

Jaime Martín conductor
Craig Ogden guitar**

Long before the Kirov Ballet got round to staging their Romeo and Juliet ballet using Prokofiev’s music in 1940, the bulk of the score was widely heard in a suite in which the composer arranged the most vivid moments of the score for concert performance. Audiences can’t have been in any doubt as to the characters and events Prokofiev was describing in what is undoubtedly one of the most remarkable conjurings of character, mood and circumstance in musical history. Before this ground-shaking depiction of Shakespeare’s Montagues and Capulets comes a treat from Australian-born guitarist Craig Ogden: Rodrigo's sublime set of Spanish dances Fantasía para un gentilhombre.

*Please note a change to the originally advertised programme
**Due to a muscle strain in his right hand, Miloš Karadaglić has had to withdraw from this performance. We are very glad to have Craig Ogden to take his place on this occasion

Sat 16 Apr 2016, 7.30pm
£32.50, £27.50, £23, £18, £15, £10

Book 2 concerts - save 10%
Book 3 concerts - save 15%
Book 4 concerts - save 20%

There is a £2 per order charge. Additional postage charges (50p or £1.50) apply