Past Events

Past Event

Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra

Martin Owen Horn

Stephen Bell Conductor

Dvorák Overture: In Nature’s Realm
Strauss Horn Concerto No.1
Bruckner Symphony No.4

Richard Strauss wrote a number of works for solo instruments and orchestra. Completed early in his career, the Horn Concerto No.1 reflects the influence of Schumann and Mendelssohn on the young composer, and is performed here by soloist Martin Owen. The concert opens with Dvorák’s overture, one of a trilogy depicting nature, life and love in his native Bohemia. Meanwhile Anton Bruckner’s Symphony No.4 depicts a bygone era of knights hunting in the forest and life in a medieval city, nicknamed ‘The Romantic’ by the composer himself.

Sun 6 Dec, 2.45pm
£11.50, £16.50, £22, £27, £32.50 & £36.50

There is a £2 per order charge. Additional postage charges (50p or £1.50) apply