London Philharmonic Orchestra 2018/19 Season

See More from Series
Past Events
More from London Philharmonic Orchestra 2018/19 Season

Past Event

London Philharmonic Orchestra

London Philharmonic Orchestra 2018/19 Season

The Lark Ascending

Vaughan Williams Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis
Mendelssohn Violin Concerto in E minor
Vaughan Williams The Lark Ascending
Beethoven Symphony No. 4 

Graham Ross conductor
Carolin Widmann violin 

And relax...when Ralph Vaughan Williams wrote his Tallis Fantasia, he imagined a great cathedral beginning to echo and resound with the voices of centuries. The Lark Ascending, meanwhile, soars high above an idyllic English landscape. This is music that speaks to both heart and soul, and it’s no wonder both pieces are so widely loved. So as a contrast, the young British conductor Graham Ross has chosen two masterpieces that simply crackle with energy: Beethoven’s roller-coaster ride of a Fourth Symphony, and Mendelssohn’s glittering, gloriously tuneful Violin Concerto, played tonight by the superb Carolin Widmann, a soloist for whom every performance is an adventure.

Sat 24 Nov, 7.30pm
£10, £15, £18, £23, £27.50, £32.50*