Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra 2022/23

See More from Series
Past Events
More from Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra 2022/23

Past Event

Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra 2022/23

Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra: Beautiful World

Rolf Wallin Twine

John Luther Adams Songbirdsongs

Philip Glass Glassworks

John Luther Adams Drums of Winter

Jonny Greenwood There Will Be Blood Suite

Einojuhani Rautavaara Cantus arcticus: Concerto for Birds and Orchestra

Sian Edwards conductor

Joanna MacGregor director/piano/keyboards

Kathy Hinde visual projections

Matthew Fairclough sound projection

A collaboration between visual artist Kathy Hinde and Brighton Philharmonic in a concert celebrating winter landscapes and birdsong: with passionate Jonny Greenwood and minimalist master Philip Glass.

Percussion takes a starring role in this concert, in music that celebrates avant garde, minimalist, rock and jazz - and cool Scandinavia. Norwegian composer Rolf Wallin’s Twine (for marimba and xylophone) celebrates streams of sound, while John Luther Adams’ Drums of Winter (four tom-tom players) arises from traditional Inupiat and Gwich’in dance music. Also inspired by the Arctic is the great Finnish composer Rautavaara; his celebrated Concerto for Birds and Orchestra evokes Northern Finland’s marsh, mountains and wilderness.

We also weave in Radiohead Jonny Greenwood’s There Will be Blood Suite for strings, and Philip Glass’s sensational Glassworks for ensemble. An epoch-making work of minimalism, it even borrows a melody from Jean Sibelius (another Finn) in the second movement, Floe. Throughout the concert we’ll be refencing birdsong and the wonderful work of audio-visual artist Kathy Hinde, whose work grows from a partnership between nature and technology expressed through sound, sculpture, image and light.

Concert Bundles:

3 Concert Saver

5 Concert Season (excludes New Years Eve)

6 Concert Season

Audio Brochure Event Listing:

Sat 21 Jan, 7.30pm (doors 6.45pm)

Doors 6.45pm
Start 7.30pm
Interval 8.30pm (20 minis)
End 9.30pm
Single ticket – £12.50, £19, £27, £33, £39.50

Full Season (5 concerts) – £46.88, £71.25, £101.25, £123.75, £148.13
Extended Season (6 concerts incl NYE) – £59.38, £90.25, £128.25, £156.75, £187.63
3 Concert Saver (any 3 concerts excl NYE) – £30, £45.60, £64.80, £79.20, £94.80

Discounts of up to 50% are available to Under 18s, full-time students, Universal Credit, Job Seeker’s Allowance or Income Support. Please provide proof if claiming one of these discounts.

£10 LoveMusic tickets available