Icebreaker: Apollo

Music by Brian Eno, Daniel Lanois, Roger Eno (arranged by Woojun Lee aka Kayip)

'With the blown-up, grainy Nasa footage and Icebreaker's diligent musicianship, this weightlessness becomes moving and sublime' ★★★★★ The Guardian

To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Apollo moon landings, Icebreaker perform their multi-media reworking of Brian Eno’s Apollo album alongside works from eclectic ground-breaking composers and footage from the space missions.

Blog: Celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Apollo moon landings at Brighton Dome

Featuring pedal steel guitarist BJ Cole, film from Al Reinert’s documentary about the Apollo space missions, For All Mankind, and music by Brian Eno, Roger Eno and Daniel Lanois, Icebreaker’s piece captures the excitement and awe of the time. Widely regarded as Eno’s most significant work, the music matches the beauty and tranquillity of the moon with the dizzying scale of the feat of engineering involved. Deep synth rumblings mimic the rocket launch whilst string harmonics add an eerie sense of anticipation.

The programme is completed by new versions of tracks by Anna Meredith and electronic artist JLin, a rare chance to hear Gavin Bryars's The Archangel Trip, and Icebreaker's exclusive version of Scott Walker's Epizootics, featuring Walker's recorded voice.

'The footage is astonishingly good.' ★★★★★ Time Out on For All Mankind


Anna Meredith arr. Poke Nautilus, Orlok & The Vapours
Gavin Bryars The Archangel Trip
JLin arr. Poke Black Origami
Scott Walker arr. Riley Epizootics
Eno, Eno, Lanois arr. Lee Apollo

About Icebreaker

Icebreaker are a 12-piece contemporary music group founded by James Poke and John Godfrey in 1989. Since then Icebreaker have developed into one of the most exciting and cutting edge contemporary music ensembles in the world. Given their unusual instrumental combination of guitars, electric strings, keyboards, pan-pipes, saxes, accordion, drums and percussion, and the distinctive amplified sound, Icebreaker represent a unique voice in British music.

Sun 21 Jul, 7.30pm (doors 6.45pm)
£17.50, £22.50*